Club Champs and Club Records 2018

The 90th anniversary Step Rock Club Championships were held on the 25th of March at East Sands Leisure Centre.

Incredibly, twelve club championship records fell, including all five U12 boys records, Fraser Stewart with three and Corey Phillip two – in doing so, Fraser became U12 boys champion. A head-to-head battle also ensued in the U14 boys between Charlie Gillespie and Russell Laker. Charlie broke three of his own records in taking the championship with 4 golds, but had to settle for silver in the 50m freestyle, which also saw Russell eclipse Charlie’s previous record.

This year four new freestyle trophies were awarded in honour of long-serving volunteer coaches (Lorna Marroney, David Sharratt, Mark Keracher and Ian Macfarlane). First to etch their names on these were overall U10 champions Ellie Wilson and Ollie Taylor-Robertson, overall U12 champion Freya Hedley and Corey Philip.

This year’s Beginners Cups (for swimmers aged 8 and under) were won by Amelia Saeed and Ollie Taylor-Robertson, Ollie smashing a record that had stood since 2001.

Maddy Wallard and Isla Thoms battled out the U14 girls championship. Maddy won the 100m IM title, but it was a determined Isla who took three of the four remaining events to win the overall title, the remaining title going to Kayla Bain (50m breaststroke). Together with Anna Suttie and Isla Hedley, these three next head off to the National Championships at Tollcross.

The U16 boys freestyle brought PBs from both David de Wolff and Angus McCallum, though it was Angus who prevailed with gold. Isaac Laker’s composed swims led to four golds and a comfortable win in the Gents Open championship. The backstroke title went to Angus, with a new record.

This year’s U16 girls freestyle champion was Anna Hedley, who also went on to win the Ladies Open championship with five further gold medals, breaking the 100m butterfly record in the process. Esmée Thoms pushed Anna all the way, with six silvers.

Final trophies awarded were for the somewhat bizarre handicap event. Swimmers may choose their stroke but must not swim too much faster than their entry times or they are disqualified, so pacing is of the essence. Gents and Ladies winners this year were David de Wolff (butterfly) and Orla Suttie (breaststroke).

Club records were broken by Charlie, Russell, Anna, Fraser, Corey and Angus.  Click CLUBCHAMPRECORDS for full details.